Winter ~descending

Winter
~descending

The sky a shade of sautéed sand,
oozing November chill. I
smell
winter.

I thought you were a lie.
I wish I weren’t right, for this season
does not rain stars.
Light slips, skids, rosy across
cheeks grown old.
Cold, like a solitary kiss, on my tongue.

I bundle up fire-place warmth,
mid-night songs in nameless flakes of snow.
Sometimes it perplexes me – these
classifications of
Life, and
tomorrow.

©Mohana Das

Linked to: http://promisingpoetsparkinglot.blogspot.com/2011/11/agreement-for-thursday-poets-rally-week.html

31 thoughts on “Winter ~descending

  1. Light slips, skids,…great allit..i like how you bring warmth into the cold and esp. loved the whole last stanza..
    I bundle up fire-place warmth,
    mid-night songs in nameless flakes of snow.
    Sometimes it perplexes me – these
    classifications of
    Life, and
    tomorrow….just beautiful mohana

  2. Winter is slowly but steadily making its arrival here now, too. Hard frost in the mornings and temperatures are dropping night and early mornings now too. Not looking forward to winters anymore.
    Your prose is lovely and image filled.

  3. beautiful lines, beautiful use and play of words. ” for this season
    does not rain stars” I think is the line that got me hooked. Absolutely loved the feelings of peaceful and retiring in this piece. Thank you for stopping by to mine earlier too.

  4. Winter a mix of feelings just as you have described here. A longing for warmth and security but the outside filled with ‘Cold, like a solitary kiss, on my tongue’ .
    You have such a way with words, Mohanna.

  5. Ah, I’m starting to feel winter here as well. I’m not really looking forward to it this year because it seems we have skipped both spring and fall (my favourite seasons) and are just getting six full months of winter and summer. I really enjoyed this poem, it definitely reflected my own feelings about this season! My favourite lines are:
    Light slips, skids, rosy across
    cheeks grown old.
    Cold, like a solitary kiss, on my tongue.
    Beautifully written!

    • Thank you so much, Cherlyn! Its sad you missed the prettier seasons…but guess they will come all the more beautifully decked next year. Till then, a happy happy winter.

  6. I thought you were a lie.
    I wish I weren’t right, for this season
    does not rain stars.
    Light slips, skids, rosy across
    cheeks grown old.
    Cold, like a solitary kiss, on my tongue.

    you are a gem, love your piece, every word counts.

Leave a Reply

