Of the day you left

Of the day you left

Nailpaint stains haunt my
bedsheets. Your
naked legs spinning enigma
refuse to depart.
Hypnotics were never of much use.

I wonder why dragonfly wings
refract light, as they rush, schedule
-less, meddling in heart-break
matters, petunia seasons.
I’m tired of drugs.

I’m tired of cigarette smoke splaying
my tattooed arms.
Bohemian scars.
I’m tired of vacant emptiness
rattling my journal bars…

I wish I could cry, the way you did that
November noon as you
wiped away frost
with the palm I kissed, from the coach
window.

©Mohana Das

22 thoughts on “Of the day you left

  1. very beautifully written Mohana. You have a beautiful name, is it nadir mohana or someone that wins the heart?

    your poem captured the depth of bleak pain so perfectly. i hope it did not reflected something you have experienced.

  2. Mohana, what a multi-layered poem! Your imagery makes this like a shadow being replayed on the wall. ‘vacant emptiness rattling my journal bars’…what a line, so well done.

  3. ugh..heavy and sad… esp. love these lines..
    I’m tired of cigarette smoke splaying
    my tattooed arms.
    Bohemian scars.
    I’m tired of vacant emptiness
    rattling my journal bars… much enjoyed mohana

  4. Dear Mohana

    Well this is powerful… the pain bleeding in each one of your words and the images of meeting, loving and then parting you have created so vividly… why he has to go… ?? I could relate to all this in much more deeper and vivid way… with lines like…

    “I wonder why dragonfly wings
    refract light, as they rush, schedule
    -less, meddling in heart-break
    matters, petunia seasons.
    I’m tired of drugs.”

    Some times all the attractiveness and love just attracts pain you know… but then …

    “Heights of my happiness
    Has its roots
    In my deepest pain..”

    Thanks for sharing…
    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/11/whispers-tears-in-rain.html

Leave a Reply

