maybe i did make you up in my head~

soon autumn will set in,
i will roam through memories
like an undying wraith, masked
in the aura of your warmth-
no, i didn’t make you up in my head

these streets will forget your scent, and
i still try hard to sieve footsteps,
weave your voice in the rain-
a face that someday must fade
no, i didn’t make you up in my head

and i hide in the shadows of Plath
like an untuned sigh, or
a neurotic lie
no, you left me no promises-
maybe i did make you up in my head

©Mohana Das

Read Sylvia Plath, Mad girl’s love song here

14 thoughts on “maybe i did make you up in my head~

  1. masked
    in the aura of your warmth-

    and:
    these streets will forget your scent, and
    i still try hard to sieve footsteps,
    weave your voice in the rain-

    Phew… such imagery, powerful and yet, so eloquent.
    Such a lovely read. 🙂

  2. Very nice. The poem is better when read aloud, since you must concentrate on getting the rhythm right when only reading it. Would a stressed syllable starting each line made it easier for the reader? I wonder. Anyhow it is very nice to see a poet conscious of rhythm.

    I like the poem as such. You point out a longingness which many can identify with and the words you use are easily grasped. And did I mention that you are very pretty?

    I will return.

    Hugs from Norway.

    ▲ A ▲

    • Thanks so much, Anders!!! The rhythm was actually an unconscious thing…this just came, when I read it loud i was like oh,this sounds good!! Thank you so much for appreciating 🙂

  3. Brilliant wording and imagery
    Love those words:
    Sieve your footsteps
    Weave your voice in the rain
    Untuned sigh (that one is my favorite)

    Makes me sigh, too

Leave a Reply

