Living Without You~

It isn’t this that I can’t live without you.
I know I can.
But what use will it be,
if I don’t get to open my eyes to the feel of your breath on my skin,
Or, the taste of your lips on my tongue?

Of what use will it be to sip in
a mug of over-sweetened coffee,
with rain clouds gathering overhead,
If I have to sit on the balcony, by myself,
listening to sparrows chatter incessantly?
And what use will the rain itself be,
If I don’t get to hold your hand, and
run around, laughing, kissing
like kids gone wild?
And can you imagine those moments
of counting stars at night,
sipping Silence with shots of moonbeams, and
Each other’s presence
In singular,
without the other?

I know I can live without you, and
I know I won’t cry to sleep, or
pop pills to sedate the loneliness-
I know I can live without you,
But I just
don’t want to.

©Mohana Das

17 thoughts on “Living Without You~

  1. I feel this so much. It hurts to be alone. Takes an awful lot of learning to let go and of ‘getting used to’
    Loved the imagery in this:
    those moments
    of counting stars at night,
    sipping Silence with shots of moonbeams, and
    Each other’s presence
    In singular,
    without the other?

  2. A lovely logic in your words, Mohana. I especially like the repetition of ‘of what use…’ very effective in building the narrative here. I especially like ‘sipping Silence with shots of moonbeams.”

  3. “I know I can live without you, and
    I know I won’t cry to sleep, or
    pop pills to sedate the loneliness-
    I know I can live without you,
    But I just
    don’t want to.

    And THAT defines what love is.
    Excellent poem.

Leave a Reply

