Being a Poem: My entry for the Get Published contest

“First sight love isn’t fairy-tale. It happens in the real world, to real people like you and me.”

This is the story of a girl, a confused little girl, who had a dream. She wanted to be a poem. Yes, a poem! Not a poet. This is the story of a girl who unknowingly bequeaths her heart to a ray of sun, one beautiful October morning when autumn was at her best- an amber blush warming the wind with glitter and honeyed gold.

And suddenly everything seemed different- the stars, the flowers, the skies, the very sound of her heartbeats.

But with it came uncertainty. Darkness. A need to understand this new feeling, to give it a name. With head and heart at war, conflicts tore her inside, scarred her scarred world. That half-forgotten blackness clawed back in again. More poems bled.

“I know I am not in love. What I cannot explain is this pain that strangles me when you are not around. But surely this is not love. Why should it be? Why should I fall in love with you, in love with someone I do not know?”

He was absolutely sunshine, lighting up the narrow alleys with his golden smile. The boy who hardly spoke, whose eyes she could never read: his secrets were secrets in the depth of those inscrutable brown eyes. Till one day, seven years later.

“How could I do this to myself?”

The moon hid behind billows of purple clouds, shivering with fear. She shut herself in the pages of her diary. There were no more poems.

“I can fight you no longer.”

Was it any different from here?

©Mohana Das

This is my entry for the HarperCollins–IndiBlogger Get Published contest, which is run with inputs fromYashodhara Lal and HarperCollins India.

If you like my idea, “LIKE” my entry at http://www.indiblogger.in/getpublished/idea/304/

2 thoughts on “Being a Poem: My entry for the Get Published contest

Leave a Reply

