What if?

What if someday you hear i’m gone,
will you leave everything and
come looking for me, to
hear what i couldn’t
ever said aloud?

will you miss the times you
caught my eyes on these
bylanes, and i hurried
away, a little too
shy, nervous?

will you miss the way i lowered
my eyes, the way i trembled
like a leaf in spring?

will you miss the times you caught
me steal a glance, or count
those metres in-between?

will you miss the way i peeped
from behind the blue curtains
of my room, searching you
in all those faces, to
see your smile?

what if someday i’m really gone
will you cry for me, rush to
me, hold me tight and
promise me your
“forever”?

what if it’s tonight i’m gone,
will you love me, love,
love me like
you did

N-ever.

©Mohana Das

6 thoughts on “What if?

  1. The what if’s leave us wishing we were kinder and better. Maybe held on tighter. I like the reason for the poem. Some questions are answered by living and chance. Thank you for the excellent poem.

  2. This poem even brought tears to my eyes… So beautiful… Like all your writing! 🙂 Once I wrote an email to my ex, also with some questions and they remind me of this poem. He never answered 😦 x

Leave a Reply

