because it is 1465 kilometres in between

because it is 1465 kilometres in between-

even on nights when i hear you
sobbing in secret,
i can’t rush to you

blue veins of rain tremble with despair
i talk to myself of loneliness, her evil ash face-

it doesn’t let me sleep.

because it is 1465 kilometres in between-

even when you complain of headache and
your coffee runs cold,
i can’t rush to you

wintry trees unbutton their amber leaves
and i talk to myself of aspirins, the harm they do-

it doesn’t let me sleep.

because it is 1465 kilometres in between-

even if a stray song sings me
into your thought,
i can’t rush to you.

distance blows melancholy in broken sighs
and i talk to myself of love, if it really does heal-

it doesn’t let me sleep.

©Mohana Das

3 thoughts on “because it is 1465 kilometres in between

Leave a Reply

